The Alliance has its Headquarters in Brussels since 1967, where the Office of NATO’s Secretary-General is established and where each NATO member country has a delegation.

The North Atlantic Council is the principal political decision-making body within NATO. It oversees the political and military process relating to security issues affecting the whole Alliance. Permanent Representatives of all member countries seat at NAC to discuss policy or operational questions requiring collective decisions. The NAC is chaired by the Secretary General.

The Nuclear Planning Group has comparable authority to the NAC, but only for matters within its specific area of competence, i.e., nuclear policies, planning and consultation procedures.

The military structure of the Alliance includes a Military Committee, where the Allied Military Representatives take part, currently chaired by the Czech General Petr Pavel, It is the primary source of military advice to NATO’s civilian decision-making bodies – the North Atlantic Council and the Nuclear Planning Group.

There are two Supreme Commands, the Operational Supreme Command, which is situated in Mons, Belgium, and the Command for Transformation, which is based in Norfolk, Virginia. Depending on these two commands there are several commands and military structures.

There is also a set of support organizations and agencies to support the operations of the Alliance and the Allies.


nato structure

  • Share